Skip to content

Why Teens Love Paranormals….the word according to Tahereh Mafi

November 19, 2011

Mega author of Shatter Me, Tahereh Mafi, has a great article in the Wall Street Journal about why teens love paranormals.

Didn’t we all feel like outsiders, freaks and weirdos to some extent during our teen years? Fitting in seemed impossible. So keeping a close eye on how those oh-so-real YA characters deal with rejection and fear can help put things in perspective. A little.

And most of us come out the other side. And find that being ourselves is pretty okay.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2011 11:10 am

    Hello, i dont have many recipes posted yet, but working on it,

  2. November 29, 2011 3:35 pm

    Thanks so much for the sharing! I have a teen and she is absolutely into this type of reading. I felt like I understood her and her genre preference more, after reading that article. I plan on sharing this article with my readers who are parents, Chris, thanks.

  3. Sally Panayiotou permalink
    December 7, 2011 1:01 pm

    I’m thirty-three and I still love reading these kinds of books although I have noticed a key difference is that when I read these kind of books as a teenager I’d be putting myself in the position of the protagonist and wishing something different and exciting would happen to me, whereas now I keep a very safe distance and enjoy being happy and secure.

    When you’re a teenager not being weird and different makes you feel weird and different in itself!

Leave a Reply

